Ryan Roy joins the Falher council, assigned to committees

Mac Olsen
Express Staff

Falher council now has its full seven members, as Ryan Roy has joined them.
Roy swore the oath of office during their meeting on June 11. Roy replaces Gary Braithwaite, who resigned from council earlier in the year.
During the meeting, Roy was appointed to the Smoky River Ag Society board and to the Falher Centennial Committee.

Bylaw approvals
Council approved two bylaws and gave first reading for two more.
Council gave second and third readings to Bylaw 18-07, regarding public notification of municipal issues.
It allows the Town of Falher to advertise any proposed bylaws, resolutions, meetings, public hearings or anything required to be given under the Municipal Government Act, or a bylaw of the Town, to be advertised in the local newspaper or other publication circulating in Falher; published on the Town’s website or social media sites; or on bulletin boards at the Town office, public library, community hall or municipal recreation facilities.
Council also approved second and third readings for Bylaw 18-08, regarding the municipalities land use bylaw for the definitions of marijuana.
For the third, Bylaw 18-10, council gave first reading to amend the land use bylaw, which would allow the development office to review non-conforming buildings.
For the final, Bylaw 18-11, council gave first reading for accessory dwelling units, specifically garage dwellings and garden suites.

FABuLAS fundraiser
Council approved a request by the Falher Area Beautification and Leisure Activities Society to host a circus. It will be held on the grounds by the Falher Regional Recreation Complex on July 27, and FABuLAS will use it as a fundraiser.
Council also approved Anchalee Gauthier as the contractor for kitchen services at the FRRC for 2018/19.

Weed inspector appointments
Council appointed Normand Boulet, Raymond Rey, David Skinner, Svetlana Ksendzuk and Shaun Storm as the M.D. of Smoky River’s weed inspectors for 2018. Council also approved Fern Doucet, Denis Pele, Andre Lussier, Darcy Tokarz and Lucien Houle to the appeals committee.


Share this post