The medal count continues for Georges P. Vanier badminton players

Above, the junior badminton players with their medals from the invitational tournament at Prairie River Junior High in High Prairie on April 26. In front, left-right, are Kennedy Turcotte, Tyson Tokarz, Jaydyn Bedard, Kiera Doran, Skylar Gagne, Rylee St. Jean, Kaylee Fournier, Cameron Henley, Taylor Chalifoux and Trisha Genuino. In the middle row, from left, are Shayna Yaremko, Christian Mencke, Jenaya Andersen, Brianna Willier, Treyton Anderson-Dafoe, Ryanne Chailler and Coach Dan Turcotte. In the back row, from left, are Charles Castro, Karter Fournier, Alex Gauthier, Christian Nolette, Kyle Guenette, Abbey Doris, Danielle St. Laurent, Hannah Sasseville, Darby Heckbert, Josh Tardif, Lucas Hauch, Aldeen Garcia and David Rebamonte.

Mac Olsen
Express Staff

The junior high badminton team at Georges P. Vanier continues to acquire the medals at tournaments, bringing them to the zone tournament.

The team headed to High Prairie on April 26 for Prairie River Junior High’s invitational tournament. They returned with 16 medals, pleasing Coach Dan Turcotte.

“It was a very long day, but the kids played extremely well,” he says.

Those who brought home medals were:

. Rylee St. Jean.
. Lucas Hauch and Christian Mencke.
. Trisha Genuino and Taylor Chalifoux.

. Kylee Fournier and Jaydyn Bedard.
. Alex Gauthier.
. Carter Fournier and Tyson Tokarz.
. Jeyana Andersen and Danielle St. Laurent.
. Kyle Guenette and Abbey Doris.
. Aldeen Garcia.
. Treyton Anderson-Dafoe and Charles Castro.
. Brianna Whillier and Darby Heckbert.
. Josh Tardif and Hannah Sasseville.

. Kiera Doran.
. David Rebamonte.
. Cameron Henley and Skylar Gagne.
. Christian Nolette and Ryanne Chailler.


The next event for the team was zone elimination in High Prairie on May 2.

The team had to participate in an internal elimination round on April 30, to meet the zone elimination round requirements. Those who made the cut advanced to High Prairie on May 2.

The winners at the May 2 event at Prairie Junior High in High Prairie were: Kiera Doran, Patrick Pabalan, Parker St. Laurent, Kaylee Fournier, Jaydyn Bedard, Cameron Henley, Skylar Gagne, Alex Gauthier, Jenaya Andersen, Danielle St. Laurent, Kyle Guenette, Abbey Doris, Aldeen Garcia, Darby Heckbert, Charles Castro, David Rebamonte, Josh Tardif and Hannah Sasseville.

These winners advanced to the zone tournament in Wabasca on May 5.

“I’ve very pleased with the final cut,” says Coach Dan Turcotte.

“That’s the best representation for the zone tournnament we’ve had.”

Pictured above are the players that made the final cut for the zone tournament in Wabasca on May 5. Eighteen out of 24 made the cut. In front, from left, are Parker St. Laurent, Patrick Pabalan, Cameron Henley, Jenaya Andersen, Kaylee Fournier, Skylar Gagne, Hannah Sasseville and Jaydyn Bedard. In the back row, from left, are Coach Dan Turcotte, David Rebamonte, Aldeen Garcia, Kyle Guenette, Alex Gauthier, Josh Tardif, Darby Heckbert, Abbey Doris, Danielle St. Laurent and Kiera Doran. Not shown is Charles Castro.


Share this post