Falher 100th Anniversary Committee is formed, holds its first meeting

Mac Olsen
Express Staff

The Falher 100th Anniversary Committee held their first meeting at the Town of Falher in the evening of October 24.

“All the venues will be themed around the Falher 100th Anniversary,” says Secretary/Treasurer Lynn Farrell.

Besides Farrell, the other board members consist of President Ryan Roy and Vice-President Casey Rochon.

The board members consist of Daren Laflamme, Kelly Roy, Cody Stout, Jeannette Cinq-Mars, Esther Picard, Jeff and Irene Smithdorf, Tony Smit, Noemi Sanchez and Eric Verstappen.

They are joined by other people who will take on roles for the anniversary.

Some activities will take place at the Centre Chevaliers and there will be a focus on Francophone culture, but there will be other multicultural activities as well.

Marianne Dupuis of the local l’ACFA is translating all information into French and she is also helping with the French entertainment. Principal Nicole Walisser of Ecole Heritage is organizing staff and students to host events.

Casey Rochon is handling the food vendors and beer garden. Noemi Sanchez is organizing the parade and bee beard demonstrations, Cody Stout is organizing the business race, Michelle Phillips is organizing the fun run and Ryan Roy is in charge of the Professional Bull Riding PBR (which was held at the Honey Festival this year for the first time).

Eric Verstappen is organizing the Show N Shine and Diane Gervais is organizing a church service. Sandy Primeau of the Smoky River Chamber of Commerce says they want to participate in some way.

The committee will be looking for a coordinator later, and they will hold their next meeting at the town office, beginning at 6:30 p.m. on November 21, and the public is welcome to attend.

The Falher 100th Anniversary will be held June 14-16, 2019.


Share this post