Big River View Snow Club holds its first AGM

Tom Henihan
Express Staff

Big River View Snow Club held its first AGM at Guy Community Centre on Saturday May 5.

Approximately 23 people attended the meeting, which presented an overall positive review of the club’s first season.

The first season began at Little Smoky Ski Area on November 18 with Dry Land Training involving games to get members comfortable with each other and to encourage team building.

Turtle Mountain opened in mid-December allowing the club to work on basic skills with most participants being capable of negotiating the big hill independently a few weeks later.

Members who needed more time received one-on-one coaching. Ski hill etiquette and using the lifts safely were also a focus of training.

Grouped according to skill and sport, each week the participants focused on a different skill set.

“Many afternoons we offered timed races using the specialized race gates we received by donation,” says club secretary Rhonda Bourgeois.

While the club is for people of all ages, no adults registered last season but the participants covered the spectrum of kids and youth with ages ranging from 4 years old to 16.

Looking to the future, the club’s objectives will be fluid and responsive to the needs of its members.

“Our future seasons will reflect the interests of the participants,” says Bourgeois. “If there is interest in competitive racing then we are open to exploring that. Otherwise, we work to establish correct technique in the person’s sport of choice and push the limits of the members in the terrain park once their skills are established.”

The club made a successful trip to Jasper this year and is already planning four trips to various ski areas next season.

Towards the end of the AGM, the board thanked Big River View head coach, Glenn Dumont, for his expertise and his dedication to making the first season a success.

The newly elected Big River View Snow Club Board appointed at the AGM are Daniel Dubrule, President – Jay Dreyer, Vice-President – Avis Gagne, Treasurer and Rhonda Bourgeois, Secretary.

The directors are Dana Tokarz, Glen Dumont, Nicki Willis, Michel Demeule and Remi Gagnon.


Share this post